General political attitudes

General political attitudes

I also had a section asking about attitudes around many of the issues already talked about. I tried to use sentiments I had seen expressed by conservative TV personalities, and ideas expressed in posts on facebook from people I know, mainly to see how much these ideas truly represented the general conservative person. But again, this data is not representative, so we still don’t know. The issues are listed down the left side of the table, with the degree of agreement listed across the top.

Strongly agree Somewhat agree Do not agree or disagree Somewhat disagree Strongly disagree
I distrust government 5 14 4 0 0
A Hillary Clinton presidency presents a clear an present danger to national security 12 9 1 0 1
I am very excited for Trump to become president 7 7 8 1 0
Islam/Muslims are a danger to the American way of life. 8 4 6 4 1
Trump is a great businessman 9 13 0 1 0
I was conflicted about how to vote for a long time 5 4 4 5 5
I do not think that gay/lesbian people should have the right to marry; marriage should be between one man and one woman 0 3 4 3 13
I believe people who rely on government benefits are lazy and should be forced to work 5 12 4 1 1
American government would improve if Christian values were upheld 1 9 8 1 4
Illegal immigrants are dangerous 4 10 8 0 1
Immigrants take jobs that Americans deserve 7 6 4 4 2
Black Lives Matter is a hate group 10 6 4 0 3
President Obama did a good job as our president 0 5 7 6 5
I think we should lower taxes 8 10 5 0 0
People who are transgender are mentally ill 1 3 5 2 12
President-elect Trump deserves unfailing support 13 5 2 2 1
We must respect the office of the President, regardless who holds it 17 6 0 0 0
The minimum wage is fine as it is 4 9 6 2 2
Planned Parenthood must be defunded 1 6 5 6 5
Women should not serve in the armed services 0 0 5 3 14
Raising the minimum wage to $15/hr would cause economic instability and hurt the nation 4 12 3 1 3
I feel afraid when I see a woman wearing a hijab 2 0 4 3 14
Political correctness is a threat to free speech 8 3 5 2 5
Abortion is murder and should be outlawed 1 9 3 1 9
People on welfare should be drug tested 18 4 0 0 1
Women are not able to successfully hold powerful positions like public office 0 0 1 2 20
I have been alienated by my liberal friends and how they talk about politics 8 6 4 1 4
I feel persecuted for my political beliefs 9 6 4 0 4

 

I was interested in a few of the combinations/topics revealed here. Firstly was in the difference in answers between “Islam threatens the American way of life” and “America would be improved if Christian values were upheld”. I had assumed they would be the same, because I assumed that if Islam was a threat, it must threaten Christianity, but evidently I was wrong in that assumption. Secondly was the agreement with regulating the actions of people receiving government assistance. Both the idea of a work requirement and drug testing recipients of “welfare” were pretty well supported. This seems to hearken back to the “welfare queen” image. Finally, I have been and am interested in the worry about political correctness. This is an ongoing theme in this survey and in conservative media, but I’m still not quite sure why political correctness is such a threat if I’m being honest. 

One thought on “General political attitudes

Leave a Reply

